May 23, 2024

History of IPL match ?

April 15, 2023
1Min Read

After two back-to-back defeats in Indian Premier League 2023

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India contested during April and May of every year by teams representing Indian cities and some states. The league was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2008, and is regarded as the brainchild of Lalit Modi, the founder and former commissioner of the league. The IPL has an exclusive window in ICC Future Tours Programme.

The IPL is the most-attended cricket league in the world and in 2014 ranked sixth by average attendance among all sports leagues. In 2010, the IPL became the first sporting event in the world to be broadcast live on YouTube. The brand value of IPL was estimated to be US$4.5 billion in 2015 by American Appraisal, a division of Duff & Phelps. According to BCCI, the 2015 IPL season contributed ₹11.5 billion (US$182 million) to the GDP of the Indian economy.

The first season of the IPL commenced on 18 April 2008 with a match between the Royal Challengers Bangalore and the Kolkata Knight Riders at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore. The league uses a round-robin format and a playoff stage to determine the winner. It has grown exponentially from the first season, from an estimated television audience of 200 million for the first season to 844 million for the fourth season. The total prize money for the first season was US$3 million. The IPL is currently sponsored by Vivo Electronics, and thus officially known as the Vivo Indian Premier League.

Leave a Comment

Related Posts

All Rights Reserved © 2024 Town Live News